• 1 Post By mbrandt1402
  • 1 Post By mbrandt1402
  • 1 Post By Black Cat

Thread: Front wheel movement

Member #
    Liked
    19 times

Front wheel movement

I have a 2015X 4, When I jacked it up and put it on stands I checked the play in both front tires. Moving the top of the tire back and forth, from inside to out side they move about a 1/4". Is that normal play or are the bearings wearing?
    2015 X 4

Member #
    Liked
    470 times
    Not normal. It could be wheel bearings, but it could also be ball joints or control arm bushings. Or a combination!

With that amount of movement, it should be easy to figure out what is worn out. When I am trying to diagnose smaller amounts of play, I will put a finger across the two parts that should be firmly joined, then wiggle them. You can feel play that isn't easily seen.

I have a '15 X Ltd. The first parts to wear out after I bought it (I have no knowledge of previous repairs, so take my experience with a big grain of salt) were the control arm bushings. The ball joints had a little play in them, so I replaced them in the spirit of preventative maintenance. My wheel bearings are still tight.
    mtgott likes this.
    2015 Wildcat 1000X Ltd, Textron rear axle upgrade, Alba slotted brake rotors (front diameter on all 4), flip-up windshield, soft rear window, PRP seats, custom seat mounts with tool storage, 6 pt harnesses, AC spare tire mount, AC step rail/sliders, push-button E-brake, self-cancelling turn signals using rear brake lights, stalk light controls, 4"x7" rearview mirrors, front/rear hitch receivers, receiver mounted winch w/ wireless remote, LED roof light, Rugged intercom & headsets

Member #
    Liked
    19 times
    I checked the ball joints, you are correct. That is where the play is. Is there a you tube showing how to replace them?
    2015 X 4

4. Remove Advertisements
    WildcatForums.net
    Advertisements

Member #
    Liked
    470 times