Wildcat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 137 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I am new to the forum. I have had my 2013 Wildcat X for about a week. I have used it three times and have a total of 95 miles on it. Today about 5 miles into my drive I heard a bang and lost power. Further inspection showed pieces of the drive belt coming out the drive belt vent tube near the engine. I mean big chunks that make it look like it exploded in the housing.

The dealer advised me to take it easy for the first 30 miles to get let break in (when I got it). I did this the first day I got it. Admittedly miles 30 to 95 were not easy dirt road miles. I tackled a variety of terrain types at all sorts of speeds. I have not jumped it outside the air you get off whoops. I have a lot of off road experience and have a good feel for what vehicles should and should not be able to handle.

Luckily a buddy was following me in a pick-up or I would have been stranded in the desert. He towed me back to my trailer.

I am really bummed out the belt just nuked. I spoke to the dealer and they will talk to Arctic Cat Monday.

What is a real bummer is that the dealer is telling me changing the belt is not something I can do (it is easy to change belts on snowmobiles for example). They are telling me I need a massive impact gun in the 3/4 to 1 inch size (thats big) to get some nut off inside the drive belt system. This totally blows as I live about 300 miles from a dealer.

The Wildcat X is amazing offroad. My Ford Raptors can not keep up with it. But I am super-bummed a belt nuked. I have never seen a belt come apart like this.