Wildcat Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 2015X 4, When I jacked it up and put it on stands I checked the play in both front tires. Moving the top of the tire back and forth, from inside to out side they move about a 1/4". Is that normal play or are the bearings wearing?

·
Premium Member
1,749 Posts
Not normal. It could be wheel bearings, but it could also be ball joints or control arm bushings. Or a combination!

With that amount of movement, it should be easy to figure out what is worn out. When I am trying to diagnose smaller amounts of play, I will put a finger across the two parts that should be firmly joined, then wiggle them. You can feel play that isn't easily seen.

I have a '15 X Ltd. The first parts to wear out after I bought it (I have no knowledge of previous repairs, so take my experience with a big grain of salt) were the control arm bushings. The ball joints had a little play in them, so I replaced them in the spirit of preventative maintenance. My wheel bearings are still tight.

Reactions: mtgott

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I checked the ball joints, you are correct. That is where the play is. Is there a you tube showing how to replace them?

·
Premium Member
1,749 Posts
I didn't look for a how-to write up or a video. There might be one out there.

The only trick to replacing the ball joints is that OEM or the equivalent will fit a little loose in the control arms and, per the service manual, must be installed with green (retaining) Loctite. I had Permatex primer on hand (Permatex now owns Loctite), so I did primer and green. (The FSM is available to download from the Country Cat website.)

You will probably have to drive the old ball joints out of the control arms because of the Loctite bond. I don't recall any details from when I did this, so it must have been pretty straightforward.