Wildcat Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
791 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok now that we all know how much the Wildcat is going to put out for HP I am sure there will be people wanting to look at Forced Induction to up that HP. So my question is what will the stock clutch handle? I read on a few forums that they feel that is part of the reason AC didn't offer a higher HP engine was that the clutches couldn't handle it. Also since I am new to this whole thing can someone explain what type of clutch the Wildcat has? I keep seeing something about a wet clutch?

·
Registered
945 Posts
I could explain this, but I'll wait for Adam from Airdam to reply.....he's been all over most of these clutches. But yes, it is a wet clutch...runs in oil.

·
Registered
686 Posts
the stock wet clutch setup that arctic cat uses in their prowlers and ATVs will handle about 80hp max before it begins to have problems. when you over power it the clutch begins to slip inside its drum and will quickly glaze the wet clutch shoes and burn the drum. on a boosted setup, you cant run it hard you can make a few blasts but then need to let the wet clutches cool. repeated runs up olds hill will toast a wet clutch in a single day with a 120+hp setup. to replace the wet clutch and drum is about $680 so it will get costly if folks try and start beating on them.

BUT there is a solution but the only problems is we gotta wait a minute before i can tell more.

·
Registered
791 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Okay.......its been a minute!
X2