Wildcat Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First hello everyone and welcome to my cherry post, thank you for stepping in.

My neighbor has a 1000 wildcat that is not running to its full potential.
When he starts it it will idle but cannot get anything over half throttle out of it.
Had been sitting mostly for two years
Has added fuel stabilizer and octane boost too it along with "topping" it up with fresh premium after every use
New battery has already been installed

Basically Im looking for the "where to starts" as I have no experience with the machines.

My thoughts:

-Fuel total drain of every line and possibly replace them(are they prone to collapse machine is older)
-Fuel Filter r/r
-Air filter r/r
-plugs r/r and gapped to ?????
-check plug wires over for leaks
-are the injectors easy enough to get to and check harness for damage?

I have repaired and wrenched on various other machines just not this one.

Anything else that these machines are prone to have happen that could cause an issue such as this?

Thx in advance men

·
Administrator
27,969 Posts
Welcome Need 04 Wine, I like your plan. Why does anybody let it sit for 2 years? You might want to think about checking / adjusting the valves. Hardest part about that is removing all the rear plastic. Might be a good idea anyway, since you'll be around the engine for awhile.

Look up Country Cat on the web, they have a free manual download. That should help get you all your information / settings you need. Good luck.

Reactions: Need 04 Wine

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Welcome Need 04 Wine, I like your plan. Why does anybody let it sit for 2 years? You might want to think about checking / adjusting the valves. Hardest part about that is removing all the rear plastic. Might be a good idea anyway, since you'll be around the engine for awhile.