Wildcat Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I am new to the Forum and fairly new to working on the wildcat. I am a seasoned Automotive technician so I am definitely comfortable with a wrench.

Long story short the 2014 x limited is running on one cylinder. Front exhaust hot rear cold. Used spark tester over wires and No spark at the rear cylinder. (Ordered coils and had dinner with the family) The next morning pulled it apart and swapped coil from front to rear and still no spark at the rear cylinder. (oops I should not have ordered coils) removed plugs and coils and ohm tested the coils as per repair manual and coils are within specs. Put everything back together started and now it wont even start. Occasionally I get a fire and she puts for a second and dies. Now I have trouble code P0336 (google says crank sensor). I am not sold on the google crank sensor diag. It has always been my practice to keep it simple and make sure ignition parts are good before going deep into a rabbit hole of diag. (some old guy told me that 26 years ago) I pulled my plugs and replaced with new CPR8E .The old ones have 40 hours on them but are probably 4 years old (I don't use this thing very often). I inspected the boots and found that the clip in one of the boots is partially broken so I ordered new ignition boots but ironically this is the front cylinder which is actually getting spark.

After I installed the new plugs and cleaned my grounds (just in case that old guy from 26 years ago was correct I am pretty sure he mentioned grounds too) and put it back together. She fired right up and is purring like angry mountain lion. Throttle response is pretty snappy and no more P0336 code. I still have some cleaning to do before I put it back together, but it appears either the ground or the plugs repaired my issue.(Damn old guys get smarter the longer you know them) Not sure if anyone else has encountered a similar issue so I thought I would share.