Wildcat Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok... I am thinking of testing something out on the wildcat. This is my first UTV so I am a total newbie, but have plently of years in the saddle on 2 wheelers. I am having a blast on the wildcat.

Here is my question / idea... I want to do a 10 day trip in Baja (San Diego to Cabo and back) and have been shocked by how fast the ATV-style tires have worn on the wildcat. I have about 300 miles on the machine and it looks like the tires have 3,000 miles on them... I was thinking about switching out the rims to 15" and running BFG Mud ATs for the trip. I have a lot of experience with these tires on my FJ Cruiser and they have been tough and reliable. This would also allow me to run 4 of the same size wheel / tire and therefore reduce the number of spares I need to carry.

I was curious if anyone has done/seen this and if so will the increased weight of the tires cause me any clutch problems?

:confused:

Thanks in advance. This forum has been a huge help / resource to a newbie like me.

·
Registered
1,455 Posts
I wouldn't go that large on the wheel/tire setup.

I'd stick to 14"wheels and get Pitbull Rockers or Growlers. I bought Sedona Ripsaw tires, but I haven't tried them out yet so I can't tell you how durable they are. The online reviews claim they are very tough.

If you want a bit more ground clearance via taller tires, do it with the stock height rims for more sidewall. Not only do smaller rims give better traction with lower tire pressure (longer contact patch) but the larger sidewall will give a smoother ride and more puncture resistance from pinching.

·
Registered
161 Posts
Not a good idea to run 15" wheels. As socalmax said- try the pit bull tires. I currently run the ITP Bajacross but the sidewalls get too many punctures. I've got 14" wheels on my Polaris 850xp and have not had any problems with them.