Wildcat Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
As I have stated before this is my first SXS, but I have been clutching snowmobiles for 20 years and understand clutching. Took my wildcat to the dunes this weekend and did some testing on fairly steep sand hill.
If you understand clutching you can’t have the primary and secondary clutch set up for two different gears. I have this problem on my turbo snowmobile the primary weights are very heavy to handle the horse power at 12lbs of boost (250hp). This really affects my bottom end until the boost kicks in to push the weights out. Makes it a little harder to ride in the trees, but up steep hills its unbelievable.
On the wildcat we have a low gear and the clutch seems to be set up to hold RPM in the low gear. In low gear up a steep sand hill my wildcat would hold 6700-7000RPM and climb higher than in high gear. In the high gear up the same hill the RPM would quickly pull down to 5500-6000 rpm, way out of the power band.
The problem with the low gear is you can’t get the speed up before the hill and you can’t shift on the fly from high to low. It’s impossible to set up the clutch for both gears and hit peak RPM’s. If the clutch is setup for the high gear then you will over rev in low gear.
If you only wanted to run in high gear only lighter primary clutch weights should fix the problem and hold at peak RPM. I like the low gear for climbing non sand hills and I plan on doing some rock crawling this summer.
The wildcat clutching had to be setup for the low gearing peak RPM and thus the high gearing will always have lower RPM when back shifting (can’t have both).