Wildcat Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been riding and clutching snowmobiles for over 20 years. Snowmobile clutches are easily to tune by changing primary weights/spring and helix/spring on the driven clutch (secondary).

Currently I’m riding a m1000 arctic cat snowmobile with a turbo that makes over 250 hp. It only cost $200 dollars to make changes to my clutch for the extra horse power. The primary weights were increased to pull RPM down to the power band and a stronger bullet muti angle helix was installed (turbo kit was a little more, 6K).

Three weeks ago I purchased a Wildcat and with the forums have come to understand the clutching issues with the wildcat. The wet clutch setup and secondary are not tunable.

The Polaris XP 900 uses snowmobile clutches that shift properly and hold RPM’s. See pictures below of Polaris XP clutches and m1000 A/C snowmobile clutches. I fail to understand why AC did not use snowmobile style clutch setup on the wildcat. The Airdam delete may be the only option, but still not as tunable.

That said this is my first UTV and the wildcat has been great fun. It is amazing how it soaks up the bumps and handles. I have been to the sand dunes one time with two other XP’s and kept up fine, but we had no large hills. My riding will be trails/dirt roads and maybe 5-6 trips a year to the dunes.

In the end I may do the Airdam delete or try and fit A/C sled clutches on the wildcat (difficult). It is frustrating that I can’t tune the clutches for elevation, hills, etc as easily as a snowmobile.

Attachments

·
Registered
88 Posts
You can tune the stock AC clutch.

You can put in heavier or lighter roller weights in the primary to raise or lower shiftout rpm.

You can get a different helix on your secondary. Just not as plentiful as a sled.
You can get secondary springs in different weights. You can also clock the secondary spring tension several positions.